March 28

“Never discourage anyone…who continually makes progress, no matter how slow.” (Plato)

I am a very patient person.  I have worked with the children that have been described as the most difficult, and returned after the most difficult days to tackle them again.  I am willing to try anything  and everything, and continually go back to the drawing board to figure out ways to help my students grow and understand concepts.  I celebrate the tiny, small, medium, and large accomplishments of my students.

So, why am I so discouraged in myself when I don’t accomplish everything on my list?  Why do I think so poorly of myself when my student’s work to be graded travels home and back a few times and still are  ungraded?  Why do I have such different standards for myself than I have for those I’m teaching.

This quote stands as a reminder to me to be kind to myself, to celebrate the progress-big and small, and to be patient and notice how hard I’m trying.

2 thoughts on “March 28

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

