March 6

“The only way you can fail is if you give up.”- Sarah Grace, 3rd grader in my class

FullSizeRender 9

This morning I thought I was being so clever asking the question, “If you knew you couldn’t fail, what would you try to do?”  And I thought my answer of run a marathon was a good one because I don’t think that I could run around my block right now without collapsing.  I have never had aspirations to run a marathon, I don’t think I have the patience to train, and running just isn’t on the top of my list of fun things to do.  So, why did I say I would want to run a marathon?  I think it was because it was the first thing that came to my mind when I thought of things I would definitely fail at.

My students came up with some very brave, honorable, challenging, and funny ideas. And each of their ideas is so representative of who they are.  I could tell who wrote each one even if they didn’t attach their names.

And then one of my students came up to me and said, “What does that question mean?  The only way you can fail is if you give up.” Wow!  Strong, important words from a little one!   And I totally agree with her thinking.  You can’t fail if you keep on trying!  And it’s not a failure if you never, ever put any thought or effort into starting it, right?  No marathon’s for me!  I’m content being an walk around the neighborhood with my dog kind of girl!

2 thoughts on “March 6

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

