March 2

“Keep your words soft and tender in case you have to eat them later. ” from a sign outside of a restaurant in Kilmarnock, Va

I found this quote as I was walking around a cute little town near The Tides Inn resort.  I read it, paused, thought, then took a picture so I could remember it.  I have this picture in my classroom.

I have never noticed whether my students read my quotes or even think about them, but today one of my students asked me, “What are you going to write about on your blog today? I bet it’s going to be about how you can’t have everything.” Another responded, “No, I bet she writes that one about keeping your words nice.  She likes nice words.”  It made me so happy that 1.  They actually do pay attention to what is important to me, even if their actions don’t always show it, and 2.  They have been paying attention to how excited I am about my SOL writing challenge.

The question also made me think about why that quote was important to me and what lesson it teaches everyday.  As I sat down to speak to my student’s parents during parent/teacher conferences this afternoon, I thought about how my words are powerful, encouraging, important, and listened to.  I have a choice in which words I speak.  I had a choice this afternoon to nurture the parents, encourage the parents, educate the parents, and guide the parents.  I chose words that were soft, tender, and kind.  It was tough to find the right words, but I know the ones I chose encouraged parents who needed encouragement, gave knowledge to those who needed it, and enlightened parents who needed to see another point of view.  That makes me feel good.

9 thoughts on “March 2

Add yours

  1. I love this approach, even if you don’t use it for the whole month. These quotes really define moments in our life. You convey the excitement of your students for your writing so well through the dialogue!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just love this post. Perhaps it’s the way you write or maybe because, like you, I love words, too. One of the best things about the SOL Challenge is that it introduces us to other writers. I’m so glad I “met” you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a good reminder for me as we have student led conferences next week. To really be a community of learners it sure does help to work with the parents. I love the quotes the students thought you might choose.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

