March 1

“It is better to ask some of the questions than to know all of the answers.”

-James Thurber (Feb. 1, 365 days of Wonder, R.J. Palacio)

I was inspired to read 365 days of Wonder by R.J. Palacio with my third grade class after a wonderful discussion I had with my 11 year old daughter.  She asked if I had ever read it and was so excited about the quotes inside, telling me how inspired she and some of her friends were after reading a few.  “I wonder if you read these to your class, if it would help them be better thinkers and maybe think about other’s feelings.  It might help them make better choices. ”  So I decided to give it a try!

When I introduced the book to the class and told them that it was full of good advice from many important people, they were intrigued. We decided to read one quote a day.  I have been impressed with their deep thinking, sometimes giving me a whole new idea about the quote that I hadn’t even thought of.  For some, they just listen and think.  Others can’t wait to discuss and share their ideas.

When we came to Feb. 1, “It is better to ask some of the questions than to know all of the answers,” I was curious what their thoughts would be.  There are some very confident students in my class, ones who think they know everything and don’t necessarily need to listen to the knowledge that I’m try to share.   Here is what they had to say,”People who think they know all the answers think they are perfect, but you can always learn more if you keep asking questions.” and  “If you don’t ask questions you could permanently not know something.”  They were very serious and passionate about their thinking.  It was very refreshing to me to know that everyday when I work so hard and put so much time and energy into the things I want to teach them, it is not wasted!

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “March 1

Add yours

  1. Welcome to the SOL challenge. I love that book. Everyday I write the Precept of the day and we have a discussion. I read the book Wonder aloud and the students loved the book. Interesting conversation you had with your class.

    Like

  2. I love the name quotes, photos, and wonders…I am passionate about all three 🙂 I also teach third graders, so I will get the book and use it with my class as well…
    I agree:
    “It is better to ask some of the questions than to know all of the answers.”
    Thanks for sharing…

    Like

  3. I’m SO excited that you are doing the challenge!! It is so fun to your wonderings. So glad you included quotes from your students as well as the one from the book! And I may need to pull this book off the shelf and use it, too. Thanks for your inspiration. So glad I am on your team so I can ask you questions. I truly believe you know lots of answers but are a forever learner and wonderer and questioner, my friend!

    Like

  4. I recently received some promotional materials for Wonder and sent out an email to the faculty about who could use it. I was so awed by the number of responses from teachers who were still reading it to their students – who had been so positively affected by the text. So many amazing lessons.

    Like

  5. I love this book too and it might be the right time for me to pull it off the shelf again. It would be a great add to our Morning Meeting. I recommended this book to another slicer yesterday. It is great to be able to get book recommendations from your daughter:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

